2 Camp Road, Anglesea
Holy Communion, at Anglesea Aged Care, 3rd Tuesdays @ 10.30 am Monthly.
In March 1955 the Reverend Ron Durance was appointed as Vicar. Land at the corner of Camp Road and Inverlochy Place was generously given to the church and the new building was used for the first time on the Festival of the Transfiguration – 6 August, 1956. The church was dedicated on May 19, 1957 by Archbishop JJ Booth.
The church was designed to provide an expandable area to accommodate holiday congregations and this extension was completed in May 1967.
The 50th anniversary of the church was celebrated in 2006 in the presence of the widow and family of The Revd Ronald Durance, the first priest.
The interior was reordered in 2009 and dedicated by Bishop Graeme Rutherford on the feast of the Transfiguration, February 11, 2010.
There is a beautiful Transfiguration window which was given by a private donor when the church was built. It was designed and made by John Ferguson a stained glass artist whose work is in many churches in Victoria. He and his partner Papas
“worked for an essentially conservative clientele,
always urging them towards contemporary
solutions of traditional subject matter.”
He died in November 2010 and Dr Bronwyn Hughes, noted stained glass historian, who has made a study of Ferguson's work, said:
“he made a significant contribution to Modernist
stained glass in Australia … (and) his windows will
stand as fine examples of the art in a hundred
We are blessed to have such a beautiful window in our church.
(The quotations in italics are from the Obituary of John Reginald Ferguson by Ken Scarlett, The Age December 24, 2010.)
Information about the window was provided by Ray Woods.